Located on Wuhouci Street, Nanmen, Wu Hou Shrine is right next to the Jinli ancient street. Visit Wu Hou Shrine; Have a Great Time in Jinli is a well-known tourist slogan. This shrine was built in memory of Zhuge Liang, the prime minister of the Kingdom of Shu during the Three Kingdoms period; it’s the only shrine in China dedicated to both a prime minister and his sovereign, and is the best-known and most prominent Three Kingdoms museum in memory of Zhuge Liang, Liu Bei, and the heroes of the Shu Kingdom. The Wu Hou Shrine Tablet – carved for the Shu Kingdom’s Prime Minister, Zhuge Liang - is renowned for its essay, calligraphy, and carving styles.
Wuhou Temple was built in 223 AD when Liu Bei''s Mausoleum was built. Chengdu Wuhou Temple Museum built in 1984 covers 230 mu (150,000 sq. m) and is divided into Three-kingdom Historical Relic Area, Jinli Folk-custom Area, Three-kingdom Culture Experience Area. Main architecture of Chengdu Wuhou Temple includes Front Gate, Second Gate, Liu Bei Hall, Gallery and Wuhou Temple, all of which are tightly arranged in a central axis from south to north, and there is Liu Bei''s Memorial Park and relevant architectures in the west. There are two sets of quadrangle architecture structure from the Second Gate to the Liu Bei Hall and West and East Halls, Gallery to Zhuge Liang Hall and West and East Wing-rooms. Wuhou Temple was destroyed in a war at the late Ming Dynasty. Except Liu Bei''s Mausoleum, the existing main architectures were renovated in the 11th year (1672 AD) under the reign of Emperor Kangxi of the Qing Dynasty. With high values, there is consecrated with statues of 50 famous persons of Shu-Han Kingdom, like Liu Bei and Zhuge Liang, etc. in the temple and Jinli Folk-custom Experience Area and Three-Kingdom Culture Experience Area are respectively set at the northeast side and west side of ancient architectural complex.
Liu Bei Hall
Liu Bie Hall, located behind the Second Gate, is tall and magnificent. With the front length of 1.8m, the Hall can be divided into main hall, side hall and side rooms, and colored drawing clay figures of 28 civilian officials and military officers of Shu-Han Kingdom are set between the east and west galleries connected to the side hall.
Zhuge Liang Hall
Zhuge Liang Hall, situated behind Liu Bei Hall, is magnificent, spacious and bright. Tall bell tower and drum tower are set at two corners of the hall; and exhibition rooms are respectively set at both sides, which are connected with ambulatory and gallery to form a quadrangle courtyard focused on the hall. A horizontal inscribed board with "Eternal Glory in the Universe" is hung in Zhuge Liang Hall, and statues of three generations of Zhuge Liang are consecrated in the main hall. In addition, there is a Zhuge Liang''s golden statue with a silk ribbon scarf on head and feather fan in a hand. Tradition has it that the bronze drum in front of statue was made when Zhuge Liang leaded troops to the south and was called as "Zhuge Drum" by the people.
Sanyi Temple was built at the early years under the reign of Kangxi in the Qing Dynasty to commemorate Liu Bei, Guan Yu and Zhang Fei. Their loyalty, morality and justice are the quintessence of culture of the Three Kingdoms and are the typical combination of Confucian culture and military culture. Recently, Sanyi Temple has been relocated here from the inner city.
Liu Bei Tomb
Liu Bei''s Mausoleum is located at the west side of Zhuge Liang Hall and is known as "Huiling" in the history of China. The treasure place was personally selected by Zhuge Liang to bury Liu Bei. Mrs. Gan and Wu, wives of Liu Bei were also buried in the tomb. A stone tablet inscribed with "Tomb of Emperor Zhaolie of Han Dynasty" during the reign of Emperor Qianlong in the Qing Dynasty is set in front of Liu Bei Tomb. The tomb is composed of screen wall, fence gate, road, as well as bedroom hall, etc.
Thatched Cottage, located at the middle of the back of the temple, is an octagonal steeple thatched pavilion and built on the site of Zhuge Liang''s Former Residence by the later generations. The words "Zhuge Thatched Cottage" were inscribed in hand by Guo Moruo on the front horizontal tablet in 1973; the words "Zhuge Cottage" were inscribed on the middle horizontal tablet by Yu Youren, Director-General of Supervision Authority of National Government, in 1940. The words "Nanyang Zhuge Cottage" on the rear horizontal tablet were inscribed by Fu Fengju, Magistrate of Nanyang at the 20th year (1894) of the reign of Emperor Guangxu in the Qing Dynasty.
231 Wuhouci Street, Chengdu